CHAMPIONS LEAGUE & BRAGGING RIGHTS – SEASON 2014/15

GenkLogo

CHAMPIONS LEAGUE & BRAGGING RIGHTS – SEASON 2014/15

Hello and welcome back! Cheers everyone for the comments and the views, really appreciated and gives me hope going forward that more and more people will read the blog!

So anyway, 2014/15. My first season in the Champions League with Genk. You want to see how I done? Of course you do! But as always, transfer comes first.

TRANSFERS

More regens! I love regens. They make the game so much better. Anyway, Dejair comes in a very solid, Burdisso type of mould. Strong, good marker and tall. Being only eighteen, I obviously hope that the big boys won’t snatch him straight away as he looks very, very good for the future. Oumar Huber arrives for the long term, really. At only 17, he can already challenge for László Köteles’ place in the first team. With first team football, something I am willing to give him in a few season, he can potentially become so much better than László. Alejandro Trigo caught my attention when one of my scouts recommended me. A fast player, who has the look of a very good centre midfielder for the future. I think the only thing that I don’t like about him is 172cm height, would’ve put me off him really if he wasn’t as good as he can potentially be. Cristian Campi I signed as a player/scout, mainly because he was a brilliant scout yet wanted to play for a few more years. I didn’t even give him one appearance. Take that, Mr. Campi! Paulo is a player again I’m excited for. A center back who can pass very well. A perfect Ball Playing Defender for the future. He looks superb. Gilcimar completed my Brazilian rout. Again, fast, agile and overall a very attacking wingback. Looks superb for the future, a player that maybe, I’ll have to alter my tactics for. Always wanted to try out attacking wingbacks.  Nathan Aké came on loan in January as I had an injury crisis, with three out of four of my defenders receiving one /two month injuries.

By far the biggest transfer out during the one was of Kara. Monaco came in for him for £9.25M and really, I could resist. I had a few Brazilians coming in and I thought, hey, it won’t be such a big loss. Next to go was Kim Ojo. I was getting sick of him missing easy chances and plus, he wasn’t really better than Jelle Vossen and will never be better than him, so I shipped him off to Getafe for £750k. Plus, I had Blose who I knew was going to be great. So it was all well in the end, really. Kim got first team football, I got money. Aging centre back Nádson left to join Kim Ojo in Spain for a tidy £800k.

BELGIAN SUPER CUP

My first Super Cup went relatively well. A solid 2-1 win, dominating throughout. I decided to start Sphamandla Blose as Jelle Vossen was still not in a perfect condition to play. He didn’t disappoint, getting two goals against a relatively strong Club Brugge side.

BELGIAN PRO LEAGUE

Superb league season. Great on all fronts. Scored 95 goals, which is bloody brilliant. Conceded the least in the league, just showing how superior we were. Of course, Club Brugge drawing 16 of their games did help us a lot.

COFIDIS CUP

Again, a double winning season. Easily got past everyone up to the semi-finals, where we faced a Club Brugge . Comprehensive win at home really got us the result. Comprehensive? Bloody hell, a thrashing! Vossen grabbed a hat trick. I love that man. The final wasn’t hard either, even though we came up against Anderlecht. Two goals from Blose, one from Hubert and Monrose sealed a second successive double.

CHAMPIONS LEAGUE

My first season in the Champions League…wasn’t the best. God, it was awful. Bottom of the group, pathetic. Though, to be fair, I was given a group consisting of two money ridden clubs and a great European club in general. Was a pathetic season in the Champions League, but the money we got was well received, really. It can only get better.

BEST ELEVEN

So as you can see, I’ve been blooding regens into the squad. Riviere was excellent and Paulo replaced Kara just as well as anyone could, really. Blose showed what he could become in his debut season for the team, netting 19 goals in 31 games, identical to our best striker, dare I say, ever.

So that’s it. Apologies if it is a bit short, but it was a pretty standard season. Unlike the next season. Surprises galore. Bye.

This entry was posted in Genk and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CHAMPIONS LEAGUE & BRAGGING RIGHTS – SEASON 2014/15

  1. tomgreat1990 says:

    what a lovely Champions League group =/ Regens are awesome!

Leave a Reply

